Skip to content

Seldom is Heard a Disparaging Word

April 10, 2010

Sorry I haven’t been able to join in the comments quite as much recently as I have been dealing with sickness in the family and hospitals. Plus, our numbers have increased to the point where I devote most of my time trying to post relevant and interesting topics, and you the faithful Band of Readers & Commenter’s have responded, some negative but mostly positive.

I’m still in much awe over the success of New Wars, while realizing the quality of the comments have much to do with it. Even those who criticize help out by challenging me to write better, and work harder. Again, many thanks for your help which has been very constructive.

Sadly, I have also noticed a rise in tempers, and something which really bothers yours truly, an excessive criticizing of opinion. It has gotten so bad as to reach into my personal email and I apologize on my failure to address this problem sooner.

I have never had to ban anyone from the Blog, and have no intention to do so in this present crisis. Holding all in high esteem, I thank you that you would take the time to visit this little website and share your expertise or opinion with us, making it a better and more interesting forum of ideas. Please remember it is about the ideas, and there is nothing personal or harmful meant to anyone. Keep showing the respect to one another that you have showed me to make this a fun and learning experience.

We’ve come too far to turn back. The status quo love to see us at each other’s throats, who already consider us as fanatics, even as they shrink our so-far invincible forces, over-burdening it with excessive deployments and ancient equipment, while wasting increasingly precious funds on weapons useless for our current conflicts, or even future peer adversaries.

The blogs are leading the call for change in the military. Outside there are plenty of scoffers. Lets keep the maligners away from our discussion as we attempt to influence the influencers with our civil conversation.

Thanks again for your interest!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Burleson permalink*
    April 11, 2010 8:45 pm

    Bill, Scott, and everyone, greatly appreciate your continued support and constructive criticism.

    Jed, i remember when I’d get excited over having one comment on a post! And that went on for about 4 years before we started picking up almost overnight.

    Also, If I don’t have your blog posted among the links, please feel free to share within the comments here and I will rectify this!

  2. Bill permalink
    April 11, 2010 6:01 pm

    LOL..speaking of ‘New Wars’ boats..I am posting from Norway yet again..where all the good ‘New Wars’ boats come from. ;-)

  3. Bill permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:58 pm

    Mike;

    Misseed the fracas..but you have nothin but my support for your efforts in this blog and your personal trials as well.

    I’ve taken my share of shots at some of your ideas and some of the concepts you have proposed or supported. But that you have them aired out here to discuss in the first place is why I hang around. I hope my criticisms have not been taken as other than what they are; the ramblings of one who has spent far too much time building and testing ‘New Wars’ subject boats.

  4. Scott B. permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:26 pm

    Mike :

    I’m very sorry to hear about your problems on the *home front*. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  5. Jed permalink
    April 11, 2010 10:24 am

    Mike B – sorry to hear about the issues in the ‘real world’ and I do home everyone is OK ! I write a blog on a niche area of IT which I work in, and it does no where near your traffic and garners only the occasional comment, so your efforts in running the site and putting up with our trashing of your ideas at times, is greatly appreciated by us all :-)

  6. Joe permalink
    April 11, 2010 2:52 am

    I would agree that the abundant usage of acronyms does suggest that (if/when the time is available) that a “Klingon Dictionary” of sorts be compiled so that you can help keep your Gagh straight from your Racht, in a manner of speaking.

  7. jkt permalink
    April 10, 2010 8:50 pm

    I enjoy your site even if I do think most of your ideas are probably wrong. But they are wrong in an interesting and well defended manner so I’m fine with that.

    I am sorry to hear about family health problems. Sadly it’s something that we all will go through at various points in our lives. One of the few things that unites all of humanity.

  8. April 10, 2010 5:08 pm

    Damn them torpedoes!

    The more voices/viewpoints we have out there on Navy issues, the better.

  9. Mike Burleson permalink*
    April 10, 2010 4:58 pm

    Thanks to all for your well wishes.

    Guess Who? Just kidding about the acronyms. Keep them coming and maybe I can learn something new!

  10. Guess who? permalink
    April 10, 2010 4:42 pm

    Sorry to hear of your troubles at home and as much as I vehemently disagree with alot of your opinions none of anything I’ve ever said is intended to offend and at worst I don’t believe I’ve accused you of anything other than exaggeration.

    I’ll also apologise for excessive use of TLAs/MLAs (that’ll be Three-Letter Acronyms and Mutli-letter acronyms)

  11. Marcase permalink
    April 10, 2010 3:39 pm

    Mike,
    As one of your longtime lurkers, just wanted to wish you well with whatever family crisis you have to deal with, hope things turn out positive.

    On the personal attacks, most posters are just passionate about their points of view, which could be taken as a compliment as New Wars provokes thought and debate and actually attracts people who care about defence, warts and all. I think posters would never allow NW to get too ugly, we’re too fond of it!

    Kudos to you for keeping the site up and interesting for all to enjoy.

    Cheers.

  12. April 10, 2010 3:39 pm

    Sorry to hear things have been difficult on the home front.

    I think the site is splendid; even though I don’t agree with a lot of your approach to various naval matters. But that is why it is interesting here , because it makes me question my opinions, thoughts, etc. (And you post some super pictures.)

    I think I only have got grumpy once, but even that was only meant in a playful way. Only nice guys post here!!!

  13. Hudson permalink
    April 10, 2010 3:11 pm

    Michael, I am not holding a stick, I assure you.

  14. Mike Burleson permalink*
    April 10, 2010 1:35 pm

    I don’t think Hudson meant any harm Michael. Actually I am also sensitive to the legal issues of the web. For instance, I am careful about what photos I post, whether they are copyrighted or no, and recently found out that a certain picture of a Russian corvette may not have belonged to the person it was attributed. Everyone makes mistakes is my point.

    Also about acronyms, I am often lost when someone throws out very many, so I ferverously look them up. I suppose pride forbids me to ask “uh, could you say that in English for us land lubbers!”.

    Incoming! Thanks for your support!

  15. michael permalink
    April 10, 2010 12:54 pm

    Hudson.
    Your comments have been read and noted Your reason for posting them after my apology is less understood.
    The use of the word plagiarism has according to the Oxford English Dictionary no connection with the intimated suggestion of pecunary advantage as you have posted.
    You sem to have got hold of the ‘wrong end of the stick’ and are pursuing this to what ends I do not know.

  16. INCOMING!!!!!!! permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:27 am

    I don’t comment much, once I think, but I read your blog over and over. It is one of my favourite sites for a whole myriad of reasons.

    Keep up the good work guys and Mike, thanks.

  17. Hudson permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:26 am

    As a general comment about plagiarism, you don’t hear much about it outside of commercial publishing, although it happens quite a bit in schools, especially at the college level, where one student uses another’s work as his own on an important test or paper.

    In publishing, the charge is quite serious and expensive to the publisher when it has been shown that the author of a book has lifted whole passages from another author and represented them as his or her own. This has resulted in the publisher withdrawing the book from circulation. More recently, we have witnessed books in which the author has exaggerated his experience or confabulated his story altogether in a work of non-fiction.

    Listing links on this board can in no way be construed as plagiarism, no can cutting and pasting from an article to a comment here unless the cutter and paster lists the comment as his own thought, which I don’t think happened in the thread in question. Most of us do some web research before posting on a particular topic we are unfamiliar with. Sometimes we take the time to make the attribution clear in the text of our comment, sometimes not.

    I have never seen any comment on NWs that I thought rose, or sunk, to the level of plagiarism. Some of the posters here are highly knowledgeable about military affairs; some are sea dogs with good tales to tell, others are armchair admirals. Usually when an error of fact is pointed out to the poster, he acknowledges such. This has happened to me more than once. In any event, money is not changing hands on the basis of these posts, as far as I know. Although if the policy makers happen to notice some of our opinions, we might wish for the big money to change direction on important projects.

    One beef that I have is plowing through thickets of acronyms from the those who know lots of them. I acknowledge they have every right to do so. It’s a useful shorthand. If I care enough, I take the time to look them up. It might he helpful to have a page of common acronyms in additional to the derisive ones posted for the LCS. I am not volunteering for the job, and I imagine Mike has his hands full as it is.

  18. Mike Burleson permalink*
    April 10, 2010 8:58 am

    Michael, thanks so much. I always appreciate yours and Tangosix excellent commentary, and hope we can continue the good fellowship. Sometimes in disagreement of course, but with respect.

    War News, thanks as always for the encouragement.

  19. April 10, 2010 8:40 am

    Sadly Mike, that is where much of the internet is today …. especially with blogs that deal with contentious issues.

    But contentious issues is where a blog must be if it wishes to grow and command a larger audience …. and your blog is front and center on a number of them.

    Please keep up with the good work, and do not change your style of writing and operating. For every commenter who may take a post or comment negatively and voice it openly, there are hundreds of us out there (if not thousands) who may not comment all the time but who appreciate the work that you do …. whether we agree with it or not.

  20. michael permalink
    April 10, 2010 8:11 am

    Mike/Tangosix.
    I feel that I need to apologise as to getting you involved in my spat that was not my intention and things seem to have got out of hand.
    In which case I should also like to apologise to Tangosix for any offence caused and fully retract what I said,which I now do.
    I have also posted same on relevant board.

Leave a Reply

